Enjoyable night in York

I really had a terrific time last evening in York Pa, speaking to their Round Table in the meeting room of the York County Heritage Trust.  I was invited by my good friend and fellow author Scott Mingus, an active member of the RT who has put a lot of effort into it.  The RT is very fortunate to meet in the beautiful building of the Heritage Trust on Market Street, which features quite a library, book shop, and displays. 

I didn’t count, but I think there was something like 40 or more members present, and we had a great time with the Q&A session and comments from members – that’s always my favorite part.  A special treat was having member Joe Posinski and his wife along – Joe does a very impressive living history persona of Jeb Stuart and I’m so glad they were able to come to the meeting and participate.  I spoke for a little less than an hour about Jeb Stuart’s ride to Gettysburg and the resulting controversy, and the Q&A session went for about another hour.  I learned as much as I taught!

Thanks again to Scott, RT President Kathy Friel, and Heritage Trust Librarian Lila Fourhman and all the members for such a great night.  Kathy Friel, by the way, is related to Federal cavalry commander Gen. David McMurtrie Gregg through the McMurtrie side of his family.  About 6 folks brought their copies of my first book to sign, and several others bought them.  I donated a signed copy to the library, and I will definitely be going back soon to spend some time going through their archives.

Published in: on May 22, 2008 at 1:49 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://petruzzi.wordpress.com/2008/05/22/enjoyable-night-in-york/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. J.D.

    It was indeed our pleasure at the York Civil War Round Table to host you this past Wednesday evening. Your talk was lively, energetic, and of high interest as so much of Stuart’s controversial ride happened here in York County, PA. Every night, I ride home from work on part of the route Stuart took toward Dover, and it is amazing that men and horseflesh could endure so much as they traversed the winding, hilly back roads of this county.

    A great job, my friend, and we look forward to your return visits in the years to come.

    Scott Mingus
    York CWRT


Leave a Reply

