Received for Review – “Men of Fire”

Earlier this week I was very pleased to receive Jack Hurst’s “Men of Fire: Grant, Forrest, and the Campaign That Decided the Civil War” from the Perseus Books Group for review.  I know of Hurst’s writing, and as I flipped through the book I could tell that this one was going to be very engaging indeed.

Hurst previously wrote a well-received biography of Forrest.  I have long wanted to read a good book on Grant’s earlier career and the fighting at Ft. Donelson, and I anticipate that Hurst has written just that – although I truly doubt that I’ll be convinced this 1862 campaign “decided” the outcome of the Civil War three years later.  I will ignore the subtitle of the book for now, and chalk it up to what lately appears to be a trend to tout each subject event as the one the “decided” the Civil War.

I also look forward to expanding my reading into the Western Theater with this work.  As I work to wrap up our Retreat from Gettysburg manuscript over the next couple of weeks, this book will give me a welcome diversion from time to time.  By early next month I should be able to post a review here.

Published in: on August 16, 2007 at 9:40 am  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://petruzzi.wordpress.com/2007/08/16/received-for-review-men-of-fire/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. J.D.,
    I am about halfway through it right now. Hurst is a good writer, but unless my mind changes in the latter part, I still greatly prefer Cooling or Gott to it. I did appreciate the inclusion of the Cooling-Bearss battle maps, however. I hadn’t seen those before.

    Drew

  2. Cooling’s writing is terrific – so I’m sure I’ll compare this to him as well. And thanks for mentioning the maps – I had forgotten to include that in my post. I don’t recall ever seeing them, either, so they’re a treat.

    J.D.


Leave a Reply

