“Custer’s Trap” comment by a reader

My thanks to reader Ed Rowe (a descendant of a Cobbs Legion cavalry trooper) for the following comment posted today on a previous post about the nonsense theories about Hunterstown:

Hi Mr. Petruzzi,

Thanks for setting the record straight on what really happened at Hunterstown a hundred and forty-four years ago today! Obviously I agree with everything in your post. Unfortunately though, I believe there are many people out there who believe Troy Harmon’s version of the battle.

I had never heard of Hunterstown until the mid-1990s when I was visiting Gettysburg for my first time. As I was wandering through one of the shops downtown, I just happened to pick up issue one of the Gettysburg Magazine and as I was browsing through it, I came across Paul M. Shevchuk’s excellent article about the battle there. What really caught my attention was the map showing how close companies C and H of Cobb’s Legion Cavalry Battalion had come to the Union line just beyond the Felty barn. One of my great-great grandfathers, Thomas Jordan Dunnahoo, was in company H. It’s almost a miracle that every man in both of these companies wasn’t captured, killed or wounded. Company H only lost two men, a private and a lieutenant, neither being my ancestor. Company C lost three men, two privates and a lieutenant. I think the escape from harm of most of the men in these two companies helps to disprove Mr. Harmon’s theory, in addition to all of the sources of info

referenced in Mr. Shevchuk’s article. After purchasing a couple of copies of issue one of the GM, I was off to find Hunterstown to see what was still there. I was amazed that I could find right where Custer’s charge and the Cobb’s Legion Cavalry countercharge had taken place on Hunterstown Road and I was even more amazed that the Felty barn was still there. Much like the Felty barn no longer exists today, I don’t think a plan to set a trap for the Confederates by Custer existed back then. Thanks again for the great post!

Ed Rowe

Titusville, FL

Thank you, Ed, your comments are very much appreciated.  Let’s indeed hope that silly theories such as these do as little harm to the historical record as possible.

Published in: on July 2, 2007 at 4:15 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://petruzzi.wordpress.com/2007/07/02/custers-trap-comment-by-a-reader/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment


Leave a Reply

