Great time in Central Ohio

This past Wednesday I had a wonderful time visiting with and speaking to the members of the Central Ohio Civil War Roundtable.  Eric Wittenberg put up a very nice post on his blog about the meeting.  There were lots of questions afterwards, and I don’t recall seeing anyone fall asleep!  Eric and I even signed and sold several copies of our book.  I want to thank friend Mike Peters for inviting me, and I hope that the members enjoyed the evening as much as I did.  Next month, it’s off to Sylva NC to speak to the Western North Carolina CWRT.

My sister and her husband live in Columbus OH, so I stayed until Saturday.  On Thursday I helped brother-in-law Bob pick up some patio furniture for their new home, and we had a great home-cooked meal.  For Friday, they had set up a talk for me to a local church group.  I spoke about reenacting, living history, and my writing and research.  The 40 or so folks in attendance seemed to really enjoy the talk.  I think it gave them the side of living history, and what goes into writing a book, that they’d never heard before.  In addition, one woman came up to me after the lunch and told me that her mother’s maiden name was Gordon – turns out that the family tree showed her to be a descendant of Gen. John B. Gordon.  This lady was in her 80’s, and told me that her grandparents had moved from the south to Ohio.  Amazing what a small world it always turns out to be.

On Friday night, Eric and his wife Sue took me, sister Lisa and husband Bob out for dinner and the show at the Shadowbox in Easton.  I’ve been to the Shadowbox three times so far, and it’s always a fantastic show.  Whenever you get to Columbus, I urge you to check them out if you can.  More talented folks I’ve never seen!

I left Ohio for my Pennsylvania home on Saturday morning, feeling refreshed, relaxed, and having made many new friends.  I haven’t really been able to take much of a vacation for several months, so it was nice to get on the road for a few days and not have to worry about the office.  Recharged my batteries until the next time!

Published in: on April 17, 2007 at 2:51 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://petruzzi.wordpress.com/2007/04/17/great-time-in-central-ohio/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. JD:

    It was our pleasure! And you’re welcome back anytime.

    If you have the opportunity to hear JD speak, I suggest you go for it. Rearrange your plans if you must. You won’t regeret the decision.

    Thanks again for sharing your knowledge JD. And now maybe a bio on “Lige?”🙂

    Mike

  2. J.D.,

    Darn I lost the pool. Noone fell asleep? 🙂

    I should have gotten better odds.🙂

    Seriously, I just became the VP of Programs for the Civil War Round Table of NYC, and the first person I asked to be a speaker at our Round Table is J.D. It was a no brainer on my part to do so, and I know the members here will enjoy his presentation.

    And I promise to stay awake while he delivers his talk.🙂

    Glad the trip to the Buckeye State was successful J.D., and I really wish I could have been there to see it.

    Regards from the Garden State,

    Steve


Leave a Reply

