Behind the camera

My apologies for the lack of posting the past few days, but I just spent a lot of spare time over the past week editing a couple books of others.  One is The Maps of Gettysburg by Brad Gottfried that I mentioned previously, to be published soon by Savas-Beatie LLC.  It’s really a terrific book.  During the manuscript phase, Eric Wittenberg and I assisted Brad with the cavalry sections (East and South Cavalry Fields) and the maps.  Ted Savas sent a pre-publication editing copy of the book, and asked me to run through the entire thing.  I just completed that today, and I hope I’ve helped to make the book stronger.

I’ve also been assisting Tony Klingensmith with a new regimental history of the 18th Pennsylvania Cavalry that he’s written.  Tony had an article on the regiment’s role during the Gettysburg Campaign in a past issue of The Gettysburg Magazine.  I’ve been helping Tony with the wordsmithing of his book, and also interjecting more source material into the manuscript from my library.  I think it’s going to be a great book once it’s finished, and hopefully we can find a publisher for Tony – I believe we will have success with one that I have in mind.

Wednesday morning I head out “west” for my talk that evening to the Central Ohio Civil War Roundtable.  Old pards Eric and Mike Peters will be along (both are members).  My Topic will be Elijah White and the 35th Battalion Virginia Cavalry, which I’m really looking forward to discussing.  My article on White and the unit was published last year in America’s Civil War magazine, which garnered a lot of letters in subsequent issues.  White and his boys don’t get much press, so I think many folks were happy to see the article.  I’m really looking forward to the talk and meeting the members of this prestigious Round Table.

Published in: on April 9, 2007 at 10:53 pm  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://petruzzi.wordpress.com/2007/04/09/behind-the-camera/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. J.D.,

    Not sure just how much time you have while in the Buckeye State, but if you can do so, make a trip to Lancaster, OH which is the birthplace of General Sherman. I used to go there quite a bit when I was attending college at Ohio University, and know you would enjoy a visit there. It’s not that far from Columbus, just south of the city on Route 33.

    Have a safe trip, and look forward to hearing about your trip to the Buckeye State. Wish I could have gone there as well this week, but just not in the cards right now as you know.

    Regards from the Garden State,

    Steve

  2. JD:

    We are definitely looking forward to discussing “Lige” & the boys.

    See you Wednesday!

    Mike

  3. Hi JD. Ironically that is the very same book that I was introduced to by Sarah over at SB yesterday. I am looking forward to reading and reviewing it. Glad to see that you and Eric had a contribution. Can’t wait to see it as it sounds like a great piece of work.


Leave a Reply

