White’s Ford Regional Park

I just received a note from Paul Gilbert, Executive Director of the Northern Virginia Regional Park Authority and who maintains a blog called Regional Parks.  The Authority is in the process of purchasing 275 acres of land owned by Confederate Lt. Col. Elijah Viers “Lige” White where White’s Ford stands.  The land is slated to be known as White’s Ford Regional Park.

Prior to the Civil War, White purchased a large farm there (he was originally from Poolesville MD across the Potomac).  A ford on the property became known as White’s Ford, and was used constantly by both Confederates and Federals throughout the war.  Following the war, White operated a ferry there called the “Jubal Early” – a ferry that is still in operation today.

I have always loved the nearby Leesburg VA area – I’ve been there many times, most recently this past summer when I spoke to the Leesburg Civil War Roundtable.  Whenever I make a visit, in addition to exploring the history of the area and surrounding Loudoun County, I never fail to make a stop at White’s gravesite in Union Cemetery and also at the ford to watch a ferry trip or two.

Elijah White, his 35th Battalion Virginia Cavalry, and cavalrymen and “guerillas” of the Loudoun County area have been a special interest of mine for many years.  I’m ecstatic that the Authority is able to purchase this land and save it for future generations – it is still pristine and can now remain so.

See Paul’s blog post here, including a beautiful photograph of the area.

Published in: on December 15, 2008 at 12:32 pm  Comments (7)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://petruzzi.wordpress.com/2008/12/15/whites-ford-regional-park/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. J.D.
    Couple of other “goodies” that I mentioned on my blog when this first came out. The site is intended to link in with the Potomac Heritage Trail system. Thus in the foreseeable future, one could hike from the site of Rowser’s Ford, through Edward’s Ferry, past Balls Bluff, White’s Ferry, thence to White’s Ford. Sort of a Virginia version of the C&O towpath.

    Second, mentioned in the discussions is the site’s significance to both Elijah White and the Loudoun Rangers. I’d love to see the Rangers’ story get told by way of a more public display.

    Markers! More markers, I say!

    Craig.

  2. Just want to know if there is interest in Col. White’s home in Leesburg VA and saving it. It has a longer history than just his time there. It was built in 1763 and is known as Montresor and was home my grandparents owned. They had it as a camp and I have much more info. I am desperate to save this land and the house. I wonder if there could be anything you would know of to go about and make sure it is preserved? Please get back with me.
    Sincerely,
    Mrs. Ruth Sanchez

  3. Hi,
    I am very interested in Montresor. My great, great-grandmother is listed in Rusts of Virginia as being born there. I thought Montresor was a Rust home. I wonder why she would have been born there. I am relocating (from Pa)To Va. I saw that the home is now for sale for 1.4 million and is bank owned. It is a bit out of my price range.
    Anyone with info on the Rust family at Montresor?

  4. I too have been researching Montresor. My family is descended from the Douglas family.
    I have not been able to find much about it. No photos yet. I have a beautiful brochure that one of my relatives gave me. I hope this historic landmark was not destroyed.

    Jeff

  5. Hi, I have just looked again for the real estate listing on Montressor and it was removed in April, 2010. Does anyone know its fate?
    Did William Douglas build it? I still can’y figure out what the house has to do with the Rusts.

  6. I am doing research on Colonel William Douglas’ grandsons Hugh and William Byrd Douglas. Their father was a doctor who didn’t inherit Garrallan or Montressor, but their uncles did. I wonder if the house is still on the property? Please reply kakiholt@mailcom. Thank you, Katherine Douglas Holt

  7. Thank you for all this interest in my great, great grandfather Colonel Elijah Viers White. My great grandmother Inez White Gold married John Gold, the founder of The Wilson Times, and lived her life out in Wilson, N.C. She was an accomplished painter as well as a great lady,mother. I was born in Leesburg ,and then we moved to Wilson to help out with the family business. I am reading about my gggreat grandfather now because of the 150th Anniversary. After FINALLY reading The Comanches and more, I have grown to realize that the ” fake” super heroes and the real super heroes ie Navy Seals have nothing on my gggreat grandfather and his men. I thank GOD that he was not killed in “the war” and that he dedicated his life to Jesus as a Primitive Baptist minister after “the war” or I would not be her today. Morgan Dickerman


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

