Mop-top diversion

I’m going to take a bit of a well-earned diversion from work and writing later today.  This afternoon, I’m driving to that shining gem of the East – Buffalo, New York – to see a little concert that I’ve been looking forward to for some time.  There is a band called “Beatle Magic” that is, from all reports, an excellent Beatles tribute band.  They have a website that gives a lot of details on the band, their performances, and is loaded with pictures.  They are performing at the Tralf, which will give the performance a kind of night club atmosphere tonite.

I was born in 1965, so my appreciation of music came a bit late in the Beatles era – but when about 4 or 5 years old I had already long listened to Beatles music and was very familiar with it.  In fact, one of my earliest “music memories” was the release of “Hey Jude.”  Wow – I loved that song.  I loved it when my little AM radio played the long version.  I hated it when they played that short version.  Needless to say, I was very familiar with those last couple years of the band’s music, and was heartbroken when they broke up.  It wasn’t long before I discovered their earlier music, and ever since I’ve been an unabashed Beatles fan.  Over the years I’ve collected all their music.  Today, not only do I have all the albums on CD, but I also have (gently put away in protective cases, of course) every vinyl album and many of the 45s.  I have a very rare UK-only release of one of their first LPs that a friend got for me when stationed in England, and just about all of those “extra” LPs released in the 80′s and 90′s… ones such as “Beatles Rarities” and the like.  I even have one of the very rare “Yesterday” LPs that has the “butcher cover” instead of the replacement cover that shows the Fab Four sitting around a large luggage trunk.  How many of those scrapped covers do you see around anymore?

I got to see the Beatlemania film when it came out shortly after John Lennon’s murder in 1980, and just recently bought a hard-to-find VHS of the film.  The darn thing’s never been released on DVD and probably never will.  But at least I have the tape!

I’m looking forward to the performance tonite.  My wife isn’t really into the music, but since I have three tickets I’ll be taking her sister and one of her brothers with me.  Her brother is a big Fab Four fan, and her sister lives in Buffalo.  We’ll have a good time.  I enjoy spending time with them, and the show will be a really nice break from the work lately.  Plus, I just know that once I hear the music, it will slip me back in time nearly 40 years ago… I suspect I’ll feel like that little kid again, lying in bed and listening to my little radio, trying to keep it down so my parents don’t know I’m not asleep yet.

Take me back, John, Paul, George and Ringo… take me back.  I’m ready.

Published in: on March 20, 2008 at 10:29 am  Comments (4)  
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.